🎉 Hey, you have free shipping in the USA!

Gomme mastic, Chios Mastiha Grèce

Les larmes naturelles de Chios

new
11 reviews
In stock Free Shipping Livraison gratuite pour toutes les commandes aux États-Unis.
Taille

$12.50 ($12.50/once)

$19.00

$30.00 ($15.00/oz)

$54.00 ($0.43/grammes)

$103.00 ($12.87/onces)

$200.00 ($12.50/onces)


customer testimonial image

Graines de vanille

Excellent produit! Service excellent!

Jacqueline Oliver - États-Unis

Larmes de mastic authentiques de l'île grecque de Chios

La sève résineuse aromatique et séchée à l'air de l'arbre pistache lentisque est connue comme le premier chewing-gum naturel au monde. Le lentisque pousse uniquement sur la rive sud de Chios. Une fois séchées, les larmes sont idéales pour les cocktails, les glaces et utilisées dans un éventail de pratiques médicales traditionnelles.

Notre mastic est à cent pour cent un produit entièrement naturel d'appellation d'origine protégée. Chios mastisha ne contient pas de charges, d'additifs ou d'ingrédients supplémentaires.

Que rechercher lors de l'achat de gomme mastic

L'apparence doit être transparente ou opaque avec des granulés cristallins de différentes formes et tailles de larmes. La couleur sera blanc cassé à jaunâtre. Cette matière aromatique et résineuse provient de la sève du pistachier lentiscus var, un arbre à feuillage persistant apparenté au pistachier. Il peut être utilisé comme digestif du dîner, dans les gâteaux, les spiritueux, les boissons et les produits nutritionnels.

Elégant, audacieux et aromatique, le mastiha s'utilise aussi bien dans les plats sucrés que salés. En Grèce, en Turquie et dans d'autres régions du Moyen-Orient, le mastic a été utilisé dans la cuisine, la pâtisserie, la médecine et les liqueurs. Sur le plan médical, il a été démontré que ces larmes de saveur soulagent un certain nombre de problèmes tels que les troubles digestifs et buccaux. L'utilisation du mastiha de Chios est si bien documentée qu'elle est reconnue par l'Autorité européenne de sécurité des aliments, l'EFSA.

Utiliser des larmes de mastic

Le mot mastic vient de mastication signifiant mâcher mais il peut être utilisé pour plus qu'une simple haleine fraîche. Le mastiha de Chios peut être utilisé dans les aliments en le congelant et en le broyant dans un mélangeur (assurez-vous de ne pas mélanger trop haut ou trop longtemps car le mélangeur chauffera la résine) ou à la main avec un mortier et un pilon. Il est généralement mélangé avec du sucre ou du sel pour l'assaisonnement et la saveur. Le mastiha le plus célèbre est utilisé dans le tsoureki (pain de Pâques grec), la crème glacée au mastic et les bonbons turcs. La cuisine égyptienne utilise souvent du mastic dans les plats de poulet accompagné d'épices comme la cannelle ou la cardamome. Ce n'est ni une herbe ni une épice mais une résine de saveur bénéfique.

Quelle est la saveur

Le caractère audacieux et aromatique est dû à la nature résineuse concentrée du produit. Le mastic peut être décrit comme délicatement piné avec des notes de fenouil, de zeste de citron, d'anis et même de menthe. La saveur est rafraîchissante mais peut être facilement maîtrisée dans les mélanges d'épices. Essayez-en quelques-uns aujourd'hui et dites-nous ce que vous en pensez.

Questions fréquemment posées

Mastic gum is a unique resin that comes from the mastic tree of the Mediterranean. It is used in both savory and sweet recipes.
Mastic gum is available for purchase at Slofoodgroup.
Yes, Mastic gum is safe to ingest.
Yes, mastic gum can be used as normal chewing gum.
Mastic gum can be used in both sweet and savory recipes. It works well with custards, tarts and ice creams. Mastic gum can also be used in marinades, olive oils and vinegar, or used as a seasoning for lamb, fish, poultry or salads. It can also be used as chewing gum.
Mastic gum does not dissolve in water.
Customer Reviews
4.7 Based on 7 Reviews
5 ★
71% 
5
4 ★
29% 
2
3 ★
0% 
0
2 ★
0% 
0
1 ★
0% 
0
Customer Photos
Write a Review Ask a Question

Thank you for submitting a review!

Your input is very much appreciated. Share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too!

Filter Reviews:
AB
07/10/2022
Angus B.
United States

Who knew?

We love the mastiha and will stay in touch with SloFood for rare and exotic experiences. Thanks!

KF
07/09/2022
Ken F.
United States United States

mastic gum

nice flavor - would buy again

JW
06/15/2022
James W.
United States United States

I am pleased.

Good service and quality on a hard to find product.

Slofoodgroup LLC Mastic Gum, Chios Mastiha Greece Review
RD
06/08/2022
Robin D.
United States United States

Lovely

Great taste in baked goods

RY
05/12/2022
Richard Y.
United States United States

Solid product

The product is exactly what is was looking for at a very reasonable price. Some places out charging significantly more for what appears to be the same product. The reason I can’t give this a 5 star review is the packaging. As it is becoming increasingly clear, our planet needs to be producing, selling, & distributing eco-friendly/non plastic packaging. The tears come in a plastic, resealable package.

×

Alcohol To Vanilla Bean Calculator

You need -- oz of beans, which is approximately -- average size beans

* Avis de non-responsabilité : cette calculatrice vanille est uniquement destinée à des fins d'information et non à des fins d'orientation juridique, de représentation ou autre. En utilisant cette calculatrice, vous reconnaissez ces limitations. Aucune garantie n'est exprimée ou implicite. Nous vous recommandons d'utiliser la fonction de calcul par poids de gousses de vanille plutôt que par nombre pour des résultats plus précis. Les gousses de vanille ont de nombreuses différences naturelles de taille, de longueur et de poids. La fonction de comptage ne sera spécifiquement pas précise pour les gousses de vanille du Pérou, du Costa Rica ou de Tahiti en raison des caractéristiques naturellement plus grandes de ces gousses de vanille et des limites de cet outil. L'UTILISATION OU LA CONFIANCE DE CETTE CALCULATRICE EST UNIQUEMENT À VOS PROPRES RISQUES. Pour plus d'informations sur la fabrication d'extrait de vanille et de formulations d'extrait de vanille, veuillez consulter un professionnel du droit et les définitions du code de la réglementation fédérale 169.3 de la FDA. Veuillez utiliser cet outil en conséquence.

×

Vanilla Bean to Alcohol Calculator

You will need to add -- cups of alcohol to your vanilla beans to make your vanilla extract at this strength.

* Avis de non-responsabilité : cette calculatrice vanille est uniquement destinée à des fins d'information et non à des fins d'orientation juridique, de représentation ou autre. En utilisant cette calculatrice, vous reconnaissez ces limitations. Aucune garantie n'est exprimée ou implicite. Nous vous recommandons d'utiliser la fonction de calcul par poids de gousses de vanille plutôt que par nombre pour des résultats plus précis. Les gousses de vanille ont de nombreuses différences naturelles de taille, de longueur et de poids. La fonction de comptage ne sera spécifiquement pas précise pour les gousses de vanille du Pérou, du Costa Rica ou de Tahiti en raison des caractéristiques naturellement plus grandes de ces gousses de vanille et des limites de cet outil. L'UTILISATION OU LA CONFIANCE DE CETTE CALCULATRICE EST UNIQUEMENT À VOS PROPRES RISQUES. Pour plus d'informations sur la fabrication d'extrait de vanille et de formulations d'extrait de vanille, veuillez consulter un professionnel du droit et les définitions du code de la réglementation fédérale 169.3 de la FDA. Veuillez utiliser cet outil en conséquence.

Mastic Gum, Chios Mastiha Greece

new

In stock Free Shipping: Free Shipping to all USA orders.

The all natural tears of Chios

Size

$12.50 ($25.00/oz)

$19.00

$30.00 ($15.00/oz)

$54.00 ($13.50/oz)

$103.00 ($12.87/oz)

$190.00 ($11.87/oz)

Authentic mastic tears from the Greek Island of Chios

The aromatic and air dried resinous sap from the tree pistacia lentiscus is known as the first natural chewing gum in the world. The mastic tree grows solely on the southern shores of Chios. Once dried, the tears are ideal for cocktails, ice creams, and used in an array of traditional medical practices.

Our mastic is one hundred percent an all natural product from the protected designation of origin. Chios mastisha does not contain any fillers, additives or additional ingredients.

What to look for when buying mastic gum

Appearance should be transparent or opaque with crystalline granules in varying teardrop shapes and sizes. The color will be off-white to yellowish. This aromatic and resinous matter comes from the sap of pistacia lentiscus var, an evergreen related to the pistachio tree. It can be used as a dinner digestive, in cakes, spirits, beverages and nutritional products.

Elegant, bold and aromatic, mastiha is used in both sweet and savory dishes. In Greece, Turkey and other parts of the Middle East, mastic has been used in cooking, baking, medicinal, and liquors. Medicinally, these tear drops of flavor have been shown to alleviate a number of issues such as digestive and oral conditions. The use of Chios mastiha is so well documented that it is recognized by the European Food Safety Authority, EFSA.

To use mastic tears

The word mastic coming from mastication meaning chewing but it can be used for more than just fresh breath. Chios mastiha can be used in food by freezing and grinding in a blender ( be sure to not blend on too high or too long as the blender will heat up the resin) or by hand with a mortar and pestle. It is commonly mixed with sugar or salt for seasoning and flavor. Most famously mastiha is used in tsoureki (Greek Easter bread), Mastic ice cream and Turkish delight candies. Egyptian cooking often uses mastic in chicken dishes paired with spices like cinnamon or cardamom. It is neither herb nor spice but a beneficial flavor resin.

What is the flavor like

The bold and aromatic character are due to the concentrated resinous nature of the product. Mastic can be described as delicately piney with notes of fennel, lemon zest, anise and even mint. The flavor is refreshing but can be easily overpowered in spice mixes. Try some today and let us know what you think.


Frequently Asked Questions

General Answer

×

Alcohol To Vanilla Bean Calculator

You need -- oz of beans, which is approximately -- average size beans

*Disclaimer: this vanilla calculator is solely meant for informational purposes and not meant as legal guidance, representation or otherwise. By using this calculator, you acknowledge these limitations. No warranty is expressed or implied. We do recommend using the calculate by weight of vanilla beans function rather than by count for more accurate results. Vanilla beans do have many natural size, length and weight differences.The count feature will specifically not be accurate for vanilla beans from Peru, Costa Rica, or Tahiti due to the naturally larger characteristics of these vanilla beans and limitations of this tool. THE USE OR RELIANCE OF THIS CALCULATOR IS SOLELY AT YOUR OWN RISK. For more information about making vanilla extract and vanilla extract formulations, please consult a legal professional and the FDA code of federal regulations 169.3 definitions . Please use this tool accordingly.

×

Vanilla Bean to Alcohol Calculator

You will need to add -- cups of alcohol to your vanilla beans to make your vanilla extract at this strength.

*Disclaimer: this vanilla calculator is solely meant for informational purposes and not meant as legal guidance, representation or otherwise. By using this calculator, you acknowledge these limitations. No warranty is expressed or implied. We do recommend using the calculate by weight of vanilla beans function rather than by count for more accurate results. Vanilla beans do have many natural size, length and weight differences.The count feature will specifically not be accurate for vanilla beans from Peru, Costa Rica, or Tahiti due to the naturally larger characteristics of these vanilla beans and limitations of this tool. THE USE OR RELIANCE OF THIS CALCULATOR IS SOLELY AT YOUR OWN RISK. For more information about making vanilla extract and vanilla extract formulations, please consult a legal professional and the FDA code of federal regulations 169.3 definitions . Please use this tool accordingly.